I personally love books.

However, for any of you (which I guess is probably a very small percentage as you’re all writing blogs so probably enjoy reading too) who feel you should read more: DON’T.

Or, more specifically; beware of the classics!

Why is it that Darcy does not demand that Elizabeth have sex with him after he’s walked her home? (Pride and Prejudice: Jane Austen)

Yes, I have actually been yelled at for refusing to let a guy upstairs which I thought was highly unreasonable as I’d mentioned my boyfriend, told him numerous times not to walk me and only lived about three minutes from the club.

How is the friendship between Lennie and George so strong and beautiful? (Of Mice and Men: John Steinbeck)

I have many times fallen out with friends over boys, gossip and generally stupid things. I have also been back-stabbed and betrayed

How are both Emma and Harriet able to find love regardless of Harriet’s shyness and Emma’s interfering ways? (Emma: Jane Austen)

Both friends get what they desire and are friends after all they have gone through- two of my friends refuse to speak to each other because of a drunken row they had about taxi’s last week.

How is Jane-Eyre able to be so good to Rochester after he lied to her so harshly and after he was so horribly disabled? (Jane Eyre: Charlotte Bronte)

I’m mad at my boyfriend over a Facebook conversation with a girl!

Now, these are only just some examples that I could think of off the top of my head. I think classics are truly beautiful. However, they do make me wish I lived in a time of courtship, of a time without mobiles and internet connection, a time where a marriage would be forever (now, I know I know, there was abuse and women couldn’t file for divorce and were the property of their husbands but just leave all the negativity out for my fanciful musings).

Love seemed to be unending I mean, how many years did Gatsby love Daisy (The Great Gatsby: Scott Fitzgerald) without even seeing her? 

Family seemed to be valued and respected and friends stayed friends.

Now, I am not disillusioned enough to believe that this is how life actually was ( actually, I would have to be a bit of an idiot as I do History as a degree) but the books and the love and feeling they have in them…it’s just so beautiful.

Grace x

