You seem to always be there when I need you,

When I’m bored, hungry, sad; I can turn to you,

When I’m drunk, happy, tired; I can turn to you,

I get anxious when you’re not around,

I feel like I need more of you.

When I’m alone I need you more.

I hate it when people take parts of you; you’re mine.

When I’m angry, cold, crying; I can turn yo you

When I’m excited, nervous, paranoid; I can turn to you.

You’re around when I’m watching the telly,

And around when I’m reading a book,

You seem to be able to see all of me and not judge.

The only thing is…doctors say you’re going to kill me.

I keep on smoking you anyway, oh, cigarette. 

I’ve wanted to do something like this for a while. Kind of, an on-going metaphor.

I do love smoking, I feel that it calms me and gets me through so many things.

I think it gets me out of awkward situations as ‘I’m just popping out for a smoke’.

I know I’ll have to quit whenever I get pregnant, and I will quit- I don’t think I would be able to live with myself, I mean, I’m already terrified of disabilities.

My logic is, I’m young.

Yes, they are harmful but so are so many other things.

Besides, healthy people die too.

As sad as it may sound but smoking is definitely one of the crutches that holds me up.

Grace x

