My boyfriend often moans to me about his step-mum. It’s weird even saying ‘step-mum’ when speaking about this as neither him nor I see her that way. I don’t know why it’s weird to say she is his step-mum, I mean she is, she’s married to his dad- but somehow, she isn’t his step-mum.

Anyway, I just thought I would share some of her tenancies with you guys as, from what he says, she seems absolutely nuts!

– You have to close draws in a certain way, you have to make sure they slide gently and cannot poke out the tiniest bit.

– You have to take the bin out, even if it’s not full- yet, if you do so too early you will be in trouble.

– You have to wash the dishes till they’re clean and then put them in the dishwasher.

– You have to let her know two weeks in advance if you will be home for dinner.

– You have to hoover every day.

– You have to take your shoes off before you go into the driveway.

– You can’t spill anything

There are more which I have forgotten but even these seem to summarize some sort of craziness. Apparently she’s also a shouter. My boyfriend absolutely hates her.

I’ve met her a few times but worm my way out of invites as frequently as possible, his dad and ‘step-mum’ terrify me. His mum gets me drunk and watches chick-flicks with me.

Grace

