Yesterday I wrote a post (https://overthinkingmind.wordpress.com/2012/09/25/why-is-that-why-is-it-that-youre-fine-by-yourself-but-after-a-relationship-yourself-just-isnt-enough-anymore/) which was basically about how before a monumental relationship you are completely able to stand on your own two feet and are completely happy in yourself but afterwards find that you aren’t the person you were before and find that you need the person you had around more than you could have imagined. It was about how you find yourself needing them and are no longer the independent person you were prior to the relationship. When I posted this one of the comments I got really resonated with me and I asked if I could share it in one of my blogs:

“Ever break a leg? After you walk around on crutches for several weeks, the day you get the cast off and leave the crutches in the doctor’s office is the first day that you find yourself reaching for your crutches before you try to get up out of your seat. It will be several days before you stop thinking about how to not get sweaty because you don’t want the bother of another shower today. It will be many days before you feel whole again.

Getting rid of your crutches does not mean your brain instantly stops counting on them.”

I thought this was an absolutely amazing comment and a brilliant metaphor which I think could apply to so many things, break ups; the end of friendships; career stumbles and more. I think it also sends the wonderful message that yes, in life you do get used to things and after they’re gone you miss them and the fact that you relied on them so much means that you don’t feel like you did after it happened- yet it also shows how you will be able to move on and how you will once again become the person who doesn’t need to reach for the thing that you felt once held you up, you will once again walk without the crutches.

This just showed to me how wonderful this site is and how amazing the people on it are and how they can comment on your thoughts and make you look at things differently and with, often, a more positive outlook. For this particular comment I would like to say thank you to ‘my atheist mind’ (http://myatheistlife.wordpress.com/) who wrote this lovely comment on my post.

Grace x

