Well, that’s probably a rather odd question for a girl to ask. The thing is, when I first started blogging on WordPress I found quite a few feminism articles and thought they were pretty ace so I subscribed to some of them thinking ‘Hey, yeah, equal pay etc.’ However, in the past few days I have really begun to think about the topic of feminism and what it actually means and the various ways in which people promote or discredit it.

Now, the formal definition of feminism is the advocacy of female rights to the point that they are equal to a man’s. This, I agree with. However, as I have read through a variety of feminist articles I have realized that I don’t really fit in there at all:

  • I would love to stay at home with the kids and cook my husband dinner when he got home
  • I love shaving, and doing my hair and getting all ‘girly’ for a night out
  • I would employ a man over a woman for reasons such as pregnancy leave and having to look after sick children
  • I do think men should be the chief providers of the house
  • I think this whole thing that people say about why there are more men higher up in business is completely stupid, women need to have time out when they have children so hence, men progress in their career
  • I like the idea of being protected and cared for by a man, I mean, their bigger and I cry in confrontations

There’s probably more but I already feel a mob of angry feminists outside my house! The thing is, I am aware that you can be a feminist in the most literal sense and therefore don’t have to go with any of the ideals but simply promote equal rights. However I just think that I would be a bit wary of my husband earning less than me, I mean, the balance would seem off and then he may feel he should stay home, no no, I’m staying home and he’s working, I mean, if that’s not what happened wouldn’t he feel a bit demasculated?

The irony is, I’m not from a religious background and all the women around me work so it’s clearly not some sort of brainwashing. I think it’s personal preference and, as awful as this might sounds to some, I love the fact that my boyfriend treats me like a little flower and takes charge.

Well, am I anti-feminist?

No, I believe in the core idea. As soon as any other ideologies come into it though, I’m out.

Grace x

